2024 Primary Election Day has arrived

YORK COUNTY – The 2024 Primary Election Day has arrived as it is Tuesday, May 14.

Local voters, depending on where they live and their party affiliation, will see several issues on their ballots when they go to the polls.

Polling locations will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Polling locations in York County include:

  • Stewart, Thayer: Gresham Fire Station
  • New York, Waco, Beaver, West Blue: Waco Community Building
  • Hays, McFadden: McCool Junction Community Hall
  • Leroy, Baker: York County Courthouse basement
  • Morton, Arborville, Bradshaw, Lockridge: 4-H Building
  • Brown, Henderson: Henderson City Hall
  • Wards 1, 2A, 2B, 3, 4A and 4B: York City Auditorium

Voters are reminded they must provide personal identification, as the voter ID law is now in effect.

Voters – again depending on their party affiliation – will see the presidential, senate and congressional tickets on their ballots. They will be choosing their partisan candidates for the final races to be determined in the fall, during the General Election.

Locally, Republicans living in York County Commissioner Districts 2 and 5 will be voting for county commissioner. In District 2, LeRoy Ott and Nick Wollenburg are running. In District 5, Joe Burgess, Erick Brekke and Dean Heine are running. Because all of them are registered Republicans, the top vote getters in the Primary Election will ultimately be the winners. A single name, for each district, will appear on the General Election ballot, so again, the Primary election will determine who will take the commissioner seats in January of 2025.

Registered voters living in the Heartland School District will be voting on a $6,850,000 bond issue for a school expansion/renovation project.

The latest voter registration figures, for York County, according to the Nebraska Secretary of State’s office, show there are 9,235 registered voters. Of those, 6,216 are Republicans; 1,341 are Democrats; 111 are Libertarians; 32 are members of the Legal Marijuana NOW party; and 1,535 are non-partisan.

The York County Primary Election results will be posted on this website Tuesday night, as they become available.





Thanks for reading this article.
JMWNews.com content is free and never behind a paywall.
We believe in trustworthy, local journalism that is accessible to everyone.