York Sertoma Club honors York University students

YORK — The York Sertoma Club recently honored students from York University.

Students in the top 10% of academics from the 2024 Class were honored. Students were also honored for their achievements in athletics and fine arts.

Twenty-one students from the university received certificates of achievement, in the following arenas:

  • Drama: Leah Lane
  • Top 10% Academics: Laura Eckhart, Timberly Carr, Maryn Philips, Trevor Peterson, McKenzie Stricker, Ascha Utter, Makayla Dinkler, Brooke Halterman and Marilyn Silos
  • Athletics: Ciara Romero, Madaline Bressler, Abbe James, Andrew Bond, Thomas Fogle, Devondre Mayfield, Anthong Hodson, Diego Rubio, Jarod Beldon, Trey Reed, Brooke Halterman, Jess McGrath, Morgan Peterson, Riley Stuhr, Lisa Krohe, Madison Gookin and Ella Whitaker

Dr. Mitch Bartholomew, superintendent of York Public Schools, was the guest speaker. Dr. Bartholomew congratulated the students on their upcoming graduation and said “this is only the beginning. The ability to win is in all of us. Getting up every day and putting your two feet on the floor. Winning is everywhere — every minute you have the potential to recognize the opportunity to push yourself harder and decide to own the moment.”

Special guests of the York Sertoma Club were Roni Miller, York University vice-president of enrollment, and Garrett Schwarz, athletic director.

The York Sertoma Club was founded in 1946. The club meets weekly on Wednesdays at noon. For information on joining the York Sertoma Club, contact Jean Gardner at 402-710-0514.

Thanks for reading this article.
JMWNews.com content is free and never behind a paywall.
We believe in trustworthy, local journalism that is accessible to everyone.