Four candidates seek District 2 County Commissioner seat

YORK COUNTY – Four people have submitted their applications to be considered for appointment to the District 2 York County Commissioner seat.

They are Leroy Ott Jr., Tony Cain, Barry Heidtbrink and Gary Osentowski, according to the York County Clerk’s office.

This is to fulfill the vacancy created by the unexpected death of Commissioner Woody Zieger before Christmas.

A public interview session will take place at 5 p.m., on Monday, January 29, in the York County Commissioners’ meeting room.

The selection committee, per state statutes, consists of the county clerk, county treasurer and county attorney. They will conduct the interviews and then vote as to who will fulfill the rest of the term, which will last through this calendar year.

Whomever is appointed will have to file as an incumbent candidate for the 2023 primary election, if they wish to continue serving past 2024.

Thanks for reading this article. content is free and never behind a paywall.
We believe in trustworthy, local journalism that is accessible to everyone.